B.Y.O.B.W. (Bring Your Own Bubble Wrap)

I’m not a huge fan of basketball. On top of that, I’m not a huge fan of college basketball, so going to see a community college basketball game didn’t quite resonate with me in the slightest, so naturally, it was perfect. If you didn’t read my bio because you don’t care about me, then you won’t know that the theme of my blog is going to events around Santa Barbara. However, if I was not writing this blog, I would never go to these events, since I assumed they would not appeal to me.

Anyway, a women’s community college basketball game was not where I expected to spend my Wednesday night, until AJ brought to my attention that a blog post was due two days later.

It was really surprising to realize how little I knew about navigation within the CC campus, especially since I’ve lived in Santa Barbara for 16 years. I was lost for a solid 20 minutes before coming upon the gymnasium.IMG_6483

Send help

This game was not a big game, and it was against Oxnard, so I expected the crowd to be made up of a few CC students who didn’t have homework that night, and some semi-supporting families who were obligated to be there. There were more students than I expected, but the turnout was still minimal. However, the fans were into it. The gym was relatively small, so the enthusiasm of the crowd was amplified all around the building.

IMG_6510-2

Panoramic view. Your move Samsung

The game wasn’t unsatisfactory, but I have a bone to pick with the #1 city college in the nation. First of all, the seating was extremely inadequate. You expect me so sit for 2 hours leaning my back against a concrete wall? Sure, I could’ve sat in the seats with the wooden backrest, but what if it was a play off game where there were more people? I don’t want back problems when I turn 60. My suggestion? Get a piece of foam and run it down the back wall. Honestly, bubble wrap would even work! That way, you won’t only be comfortable, but if the game gets boring, simply start popping the bubble wrap, and I can guarantee the ticket sales will go up once the bubble wrap is installed. I mean, what other way to sell anything? Add in some bubble wrap. You’re welcome SBCC.

IMG_6516

Fit for a king

Leave a Reply

